Halloween at home: $50 off every WLO house. Gabled, Pueblo and Lakota from $299. See the houses →

Guides · WLO vs Diggs vs Fable: Furniture Dog Crates Compared

Guide

WLO vs Diggs vs Fable: Furniture Dog Crates Compared

By Erman Burak Satana, CEO of WLO · Published · Updated
Walnut WLO Gabled in a calm bedroom beside a linen armchair
Photo: customer review.
Short answer: for the same dog, a WLO house has more floor and more height inside than the Diggs Revol and the Fable Signature, comes with a cushion they sell separately, and costs at least $250 less at our regular price. Next to Lotus and four makers on Etsy, WLO is the only one whose page lists both 16 mm panels and made in the USA. Every rival number below is from the seller's own page, read on October 20, 2026. We design and build WLO houses in our own shop in Lexington, North Carolina, so read this knowing we make one of the crates compared.
Key takeaways
  • Inside floor: a WLO Size 3 has 1,329 sq in of floor inside, against 1,190 for the Diggs Revol Large and 1,126 for the Fable Signature L. WLO has more floor at every size.
  • Cushion: every WLO house comes with a cushion about 5.5 in (14 cm) thick. Diggs and Fable sell their pad or bed separately.
  • Price: at WLO's regular price, each Diggs and Fable size costs at least $250 more than the WLO size for the same dog.
  • Panels and origin: of the nine crates on this page, WLO is the only one whose page lists both 16 mm panels and made in the USA.
  • Tools: a WLO house ships with a screwdriver and a 4 mm hex key in the box.

How we compared

  • Same dog, size for size: Diggs lists a dog weight for each size, so for each WLO size we took the largest Diggs size it suggests for the same dog. That is as fair to Diggs as we could make it. Fable lists dog weights for S and M only, so we matched its S, M and L to our Size 1, 2 and 3.
  • Inside floor: inside length times inside width, as listed. WLO numbers are our own measurements.
  • Inside height: WLO height is measured at the inside peak of the Gabled roof. The Pueblo has a flat top.
  • Prices: the price each seller lists on its own page. WLO prices are our regular prices: $349, $449 and $549 for Size 1, 2 and 3.
  • Updates: we check these pages regularly and update this page when they change. If a seller's page says something different, tell us and we correct it within 48 hours.
To-scale front view of WLO Gabled Size 3, Diggs Revol Large and Fable Signature L
Illustration. Drawn to each seller's listed outside size, Oct 20, 2026.

Room inside, for the same dog

Dogs 50 to 89 lb. WLO Size 3 inside: 43 × 30.9 in, 1,329 sq in, 38.6 in at the Gabled peak. Cushion included. $549.

CrateInside floorFloor spaceInside heightCushionPrice
WLO Gabled, Size 343 × 30.9 in1,329 sq in38.6 inIncluded, about 5.5 in$549
Diggs Revol, Large (70 to 90 lb)42.5 × 28 in1,190 sq in30 inSold separately$1,149 ($600 more)
Fable Signature, L40.2 × 28 in1,126 sq in29.2 inSold separately$2,499 ($1,950 more)

Dogs 25 to 49 lb. WLO Size 2 inside: 36 × 25.8 in, 929 sq in, 32.1 in at the Gabled peak. Cushion included. $449.

CrateInside floorFloor spaceInside heightCushionPrice
WLO Gabled, Size 236 × 25.8 in929 sq in32.1 inIncluded, about 5.5 in$449
Fable Signature, M (25 to 50 lb)32 × 22.5 in720 sq in23.5 inSold separately$1,399 ($950 more)
Diggs Revol, Medium (30 to 50 lb)31.4 × 20.6 in647 sq in21.5 inSold separately$799 ($350 more)

Dogs 5 to 24 lb. WLO Size 1 inside: 27 × 19.4 in, 524 sq in, 23.8 in at the Gabled peak. Cushion included. $349.

CrateInside floorFloor spaceInside heightCushionPrice
WLO Gabled, Size 127 × 19.4 in524 sq in23.8 inIncluded, about 5.5 in$349
Fable Signature, S (25 lb or less)24.5 × 18 in441 sq in20.5 inSold separately$799 ($450 more)
Diggs Revol, Small (up to 30 lb)25.3 × 17.4 in440 sq in18.5 inSold separately$599 ($250 more)

A bed on the crate floor takes some of the height. Diggs sells a pad 2 to 2.75 in thick for the Revol, and Fable sells its bed separately for $119 to $199. The WLO cushion is already counted in the box.

Inside floors from above, one scale: WLO Gabled Size 3, Diggs Revol Large, Fable Signature L
Illustration. Inside floors as listed, Oct 20, 2026, on a 6 in grid.

Six more furniture crates, as listed

Lotus and four smaller makers who sell on Etsy build furniture-style crates too. None of their pages lists inside measurements, so we can't compare floor space for the same dog. Here is what each lists, next to WLO.

CrateWalls, as listedPanel thicknessCushionSizes and prices, as listed
WLO (Gabled, Pueblo, Lakota)16 mm EcoComposite panels16 mmIncluded, about 5.5 in$349, $449, $549
Lotus Dog House, Mid WalnutMDF, walnut wood-grain finishnot statedIncluded$296, $396, $496, $696
PetsoOriginalStore, VenloPlywood, painted12 mmIncluded$414.75 to $908.25 (4 sizes)
KokaaStore, Lumio IIBaltic birch plywood, hard-wax oilnot statedIncluded$511.53 to $936.23 (4 sizes)
WoWWooDi, Solid Beech with Table TopSolid beech frame, birch plywood top and floornot statedSold separately$534.99 to $919.81 (6 sizes)
TolotunPetHouse, Mid-CenturyBeech plywood15 mmIncluded$603 to $2,117 (7 sizes)
Fable EssentialPolypropylene (plastic)not statedSold separately$279, $399, $499

Lotus is the closest to WLO on price. Matched by outside footprint, a Lotus Mid Walnut costs more than the WLO size closest to it: the M ($396) sits next to our Size 1, and the XL ($696) next to our Size 2 and Size 3. The full size-by-size match, with drawings to scale, is on our compare page.

What the walls are made of

A WLO house is 16 mm EcoComposite panels. Not MDF, not particle board. The finish is matte, in four colors, and wipes clean with a damp cloth.

The others list:

  • Diggs Revol: a steel frame, aluminum mesh and reinforced plastic. It is a collapsible wire crate.
  • Fable Signature: bentwood. Fable Essential: polypropylene.
  • Lotus: MDF with a wood-grain finish.
  • Petso, KokaaStore, WoWWooDi and Tolotun: plywood, with a solid beech frame on the WoWWooDi.

Only two rivals list a thickness: 12 mm for Petso and 15 mm for Tolotun. What MDF, particleboard, plywood and solid wood each are, with water tests, screw tests and US sheet prices, is in our guide to dog crate materials.

Walnut WLO Gabled door with acrylic panes, metal hinges and drop latch

What is in the box

  • WLO:
    the house, cut and finished to order
    a cushion about 5.5 in (14 cm) thick with a washable cover
    metal hinges and a metal latch, every screw sorted by code
    a screwdriver and a 4 mm hex key
    a numbered guide
    ships in one box of about 48, 79 or 110 lb, Size 1 to 3
  • Diggs Revol: the crate. The pad is sold separately.
  • Fable Signature and Essential: the crate and its gate. The bed is sold separately.
  • Lotus, Petso, KokaaStore and Tolotun: the crate with a cushion.
  • WoWWooDi: the crate. The cushion is sold separately.

If you want to see the inside before you order, the 3D view of the Gabled shows your dog's breed inside each size.

Where they are made

  • WLO: our own facility in Lexington, North Carolina. Each house is made to order and leaves in 2 to 4 weekdays.
  • Fable (Signature and Essential): "Designed in USA, made in China", per Fable's pages.
  • PetsoOriginalStore: Ukraine. KokaaStore: Latvia. WoWWooDi: Poland. TolotunPetHouse: Türkiye.
  • Diggs and Lotus: their pages do not say.
WLO warehouse floor in Lexington, North Carolina, with pallets of panels
Photo: WLO.

A fair word on what each is for

These crates are built for different jobs:

  • The Diggs Revol folds flat, which helps if you move it often.
  • The Fable Signature is a bentwood piece; the Fable Essential is a lighter plastic crate.
  • Lotus and the Etsy makers build furniture-style houses in their own styles and sizes.
  • A WLO house is a room for your dog that lives in your room, with a cushion, 16 mm panels and parts you can replace for years.

If you need a crate that folds for travel, buy one that folds. This comparison is for the crate your dog sleeps in at home.

Questions

Why does a WLO house cost less than a Diggs or a Fable?

We make each house to order in our own facility in Lexington, North Carolina, ship it flat in one box and sell it directly to you. Other brands set their own prices for their own reasons; we only show the prices they list.

Is a WLO house a travel crate?

No. It is an indoor house; covered patios are fine, out of direct rain and snow. It is assembled once and stays put.

Is the cushion included in the price?

Yes. Every WLO house comes with a cushion about 5.5 in (14 cm) thick and a washable cover.

Where do the rival numbers come from?

From each seller's own product page, read on October 20, 2026. Every source is linked below and on our compare page.

Which WLO size do I need?

Size 1 for dogs 5 to 24 lb, Size 2 for 25 to 49 lb, Size 3 for 50 to 89 lb. The size guide shows your dog inside each size.

Sources

Each seller's own page, read October 20, 2026, US visitor, prices in USD:

Brand names are trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify their products. WLO houses are protected by 14 U.S. design patents.